Blessed.

Blessed. Yep, if I could pick a word for the day it would be that. Blessed beyond description. Today is my 25th birthday. The big 2-5, quarter of a century, last year before I begin my inevitable but dreaded descent out of my twenties. It’s a big day and it feels big. It feels significant but not because of the new number I now put on my health forms or my new response to people who ask how old I am. Nope, not even because I can now rent a car all by myself, although that will be a plus. It feels significant because I am struck by the amazing people I have in my life who care enough to wish me a Happy Birthday, wake up at 6 am and have a birthday breakfast with me, take me horse back riding and ballroom dancing (he did well ☺) and to make me a homemade card and lunch on a ‘It’s your special day’ plate. It’s those people that make my life so blessed. I have the most amazing people in my life, both family and friends, whose friendship I certainly don’t deserve and who could find people a lot cooler than me to spend time with. So I’m thankful and so humbled on this inaugural day of my 25th year of life.

I’m thankful especially for one specific person on this day as well. One person who has been with me LITERALLY from the beginning. Like the VERY beginning. I’m talking like earliest beginning possible. You see, the kind of deal where we were wombmates before we were roommates. Yep, we have been together longer than 25 years. She is my best friend. My oldest friend. My confidant. My teammate. My sounding board. My encourager. She knows me better than anyone else. She can read my thoughts. Make sense of my thoughts even when I can’t. She’s been known to feel my pain. She holds me accountable. She challenges me in my faith. She is a picture of godliness. We have been talking for 25 years, yes even before we could use words, and we have yet to run out of things to say. Somehow, I don’t think we ever will. She is one of the biggest blessings in my life and even though we are half a nation away on this day of our birth, I’m still celebrating with her.

BP, Powell #1, I love you tons! Wish we were together but even miles apart we are still doing life side by side! Thanks for being my best friend for 25 years. Can’t wait for the next 25. Maybe this ‘always looking younger than we really are’ thing will come in handy at 50. Miss you! HAPPY BIRTHDAY GEMELA!!!

Leave a Reply

