The next J Lo.

When it comes to life, there are two kinds of people in my mind. Planners and well…non planners. There are those that think things through and decide what is best. Then there are those that just wing it and hope for the best. I personally would fall into the first category although I kind of wish I was in the latter. However, that is just not true. In fact, if you were to ask my family if I was more a planner than a non-planner, they would nod their heads in agreement and give you that raised eyebrow look that is supposed to signal a particular emphasis. You know, the kind where they really mean it. You see, there is very little I do in my life that isn’t planned, well thought out and probably over analyzed. If you ask me to give a speech or lead a devotional I have NO problem doing it…as long as I get to practice it in front of my bathroom mirror ten times beforehand. If you need me to do a funny skit or perform a dance I will do it with the greatest enthusiasm…but you better give me adequate time to prepare. You get the picture. They would never hire me to be on ‘Whose Line is It Anyway?’ but I may get called up to be the next Jennifer Lopez and star with Matthew McConaughey in The Wedding Planner 2. (I was always a sucker for his voice and that Texas masculinity).

Well, even though I fully believe this a God given characteristic of mine, the Lord has indeed been reminding me, in ways that only He can, of a certain related truth. Namely, as Scripture so bluntly puts it, ‘Many are the plans in a man’s heart, but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails.’ (Proverbs 19:21) Convicting? Challenging? A little frustrating? YES! But oh, what a sweet reminder of the sovereignty and the goodness of our God. He certainly knows what is best for my life and what peace knowing that no matter how much I ‘plan,’ that His plan will always endure and it is best. Praise Jesus that He overrides my silly, insufficient and inadequate plans for my life. Mine fall short but His surpass my wildest imaginations. Mine would leave me wanting. His leave me astounded. Mine are based on pure nearsightedness. His have an eternal perspective. Mine are good. His are better than best.

Now, I may go into detail at a later date as to how this has been playing out in my life recently. As for today, however, I must simply draw attention to one particular way that the Lord’s plans, though different from my own, have proven to be for my ultimate gain. You see, six years ago, without me having even an inkling of its future impact, I stepped into the gates of Kanakuk Kamps in Branson, MO.  Oh what a life change that would have and I had no idea. Was or has it been my long term plan? Not at all. But as I close my 6th and most likely final summer within the gates of Kamp, I am silenced by the pure recognition of Proverbs 19:21’s truth and significance. His purpose prevails and I am so thankful that it does.

I have attached a few ‘sneak preview’ pictures to this blog post but it is really an intro for the next one as I look at the way God’s plans for my life in association with Kanakuk Kamps has unfolded over the last six years. Stay tuned for my ‘over analytical’ debriefing of God’s purpose in my years on Kanakomo Hill.

(As a side note, I have been away from the blogging world for far too long now since I have been at Kamp. Not to worry though, I am back and determined more than ever to a consistent blogger…for all 6 of my followers J Here is to a year of more pictures, more growth and more life behind the lens!)

We do a Track meet every year. GO Liberty Bluejays.

Sweet friends.

 

Precious girls.

 

Glasses. One needs a little repair. Thank you duct tape.

 

It’s kamp. People are weird and its ok. Good thing I’m weird all year round. 

Stay tuned for more pics and more life behind the lens! Glad to be back in the blogisphere 🙂

One thought on “The next J Lo.

Leave a Reply

