Perfect Unions.

There are unions in this world that just make sense. For example, Peanut Butter and Jelly. Sonny and Cher. Chocolate Syrup and Vanilla Ice Cream. Boomer and Sooner. July 4th and Watermelon. Hot Chocolate and Marshmallows. They are just right. In fact, even though at one point in time they were created separately and you certainly had to have one without the other initially, after their union is made you find it hard to even remember the days when they were divided. Almost as if the season of division didn’t even exist because surely they were created to be together and not apart. Surely.

Well, that my friends is the way I view my twin sister Beth and her new fiance David. If you have been wondering where I have been for the last week and then some, it’s because life has been C-razy. With a capital C. Actually more like CRAZY. Yeah, that’s much more of an accurate description of the last week. I moved my life to a place you still do not know (sorry blog post coming soon I promise) on a Friday and 5 hours later boarded a plane bound for sunny Florida. Why such a crazy move you ask? Well, my best friend in the entire world, one who I’ve been sharing life with even before I entered this world, was getting engaged and there was NO way I was going to miss it.

David had called me about a month prior and requested my help on a secret mission. Operation Propose to Beth. Lying is not something that I would consider a particular talent of mine, especially when it concerns the person that I share everything with. Needless to say, you can imagine the high stress of the last month as I had to do everything to throw her off and keep her guessing. I may not win an Oscar but I should definitely be nominated if I do say so myself.

It was a rainy Saturday in Florida which surprisingly made it all the more romantic as David knelt before the woman he hoped would be his bride and asked her the question they had both been waiting for their whole lives. After listening to him express his love for her and recount the ways that God had lead him to her, she drew her hands to her face in shock as she saw this man in humble position before her, knee to the earth. There he was, the man she had prayed for. There she was, the woman he had prayed for. Neither are perfect, but they are perfect for each other. Why? Because it wasn’t infatuation or insecurity that had brought them together in a desperate need for fulfillment. No, it was the Lord who had seen fit to bless them with a life partner because of their first and foremost contentment in Him. He is their common ground and the source of their unity.

She looked at him, her groom to be, replied ‘Yes!” with no hesitation and leapt into the arms of the man that she would be joined with the rest of her days. It was a beautiful thing because it was blessed. Blessed by the One who had designed it. The One who will continue to design it. You see, they are like Peanut Butter and Jelly, Boomer and Sooner, and July 4th with Watermelon. They were created separate but they are better together than apart.

(I’ve attached some pictures of David and Beth from the last year of their dating. Just candid life pictures but don’t worry, engagement pics are just around the corner!)

Happy Tuesday!

Chasing after her man…

2 thoughts on “Perfect Unions.

  1. Pingback: My New Best Friend. | maryfieldsphotography

Leave a Reply

