A Good Gift.

All my life I have been a really good sleeper. I can fall asleep anywhere, anytime and stay asleep. It’s a gift really. A talent that I have been very quick to use and value. In talking with people over the years, I’ve discovered that to be rare. What makes my sleeping habits even more rare is the position you might find me sleeping in. Indian style and then folded over on top of my legs. You’d have to see it to believe it and yes…it is weird. Don’t worry, I not only recognize it to be strange but I also have accepted it! The first time my mom discovered me sleeping like that, I was about 6 years old and she thought someone had come in and cut my legs off. Quite tragic for her motherly soul. All that to say, if you should ever stumble upon me sleeping…you were fairly warned. Anyway, I digress. My sleeping habits as of late have not been quite as pleasant however, as I inevitably find myself waking up multiple times in the night, each time more frustrating than its precedent. Diagnosing myself, which I am oh so good at, I’ve weighed a number of options. I suppose part of it is that I am in a new environment which always alters your sleeping habits a little bit but after much analysis I came to another conclusion. I have a lot on my mind. Stressed about a number of different things, I think that my mind is weighed down, like its just gained 100 lbs. Decisions to be made. Transitions to be transitioned. Things to get in order.

As I woke up this morning, a bit frustrated at the sudden disappearance of my ‘oh so wonderful gift,’ I remembered a picture that I had edited yesterday of a sweet girl and her mom. (more of this precious family to come soon) It reminded me of something very valuable. Not to take things too seriously but to remember to laugh and enjoy life. It’s too short to allow yourself to get stressed to the point of losing sleep. God has gifted us with greater things than a good night’s sleep. He has given us life, undeserved life, and we are to live it to the fullest. No matter what the circumstances, His goodness overpowers it all. Remember to laugh today and make funny faces. You never know, it could result in sweet dreams.

Happy Tuesday!

One thought on “A Good Gift.

  1. Pingback: A Fatherly Hug. | maryfieldsphotography

Leave a Reply

