Guest Blogger: Wise Words From My Mother

 

She’s just the coolest. Simply put. She’s incredibly talented. Incredibly hardworking. Incredibly humble. Incredibly insightful. Incredibly loving to all. Incredibly incredible. She is my mother. (the above picture is her being my wonderful assistant at a shoot a few weeks ago. She is a great assistant and I am lucky because she works for a great price.)

I have been doing some research on blogging as of late in an attempt to get a better handle on how to do this thing well. One thing I have seen repetitively suggested as well as implemented is guest blogging. It gives a certain freshness to the blog with insight from outside sources as well as a brief break for the primary blogger (that would be me who is welcoming the short break with wide open arms). So, who better to be my first guest blogger than my incredible mother. Not only is she a woman of great insight and wisdom, but she is also an aspiring photographer as well. She dabbled in it before I was born so I suppose I should credit her for my innate interest and debatable talent. As of late, I have been reacquainting her with the art of photography and she has been having a blast practicing with my Ole Faithful, the Canon 50D (more on this later this week with some self portraits she did of me). I must credit the below picture to her handiwork. So without further ado, here are some wise words from my mama!

Happy Monday!

 

“Our family just returned from a Christmas vacation in a somewhat remote area outside Branson, MO.  On one of my morning walks, I happened upon a sign that provided a good chuckle. How could anyone need a sign to let them know a lake was before them? Maybe the sign was needed for fishermen unloading their boats on the access ramp? Maybe the Feds require “lake ahead” signs to insure the safety of our citizens!

My takeaway from this funny picture is that we are often blind to many things: our failings, our frailty, our need for a risen Savior. I was reminded of this as I tuned in to New Years’ Eve TV coverage, especially CNN’s. Kathy Griffin and Anderson Cooper laughed the night away with crass jokes and foolish babble as Twitter comments celebrating their personalities scrolled across the screen.  Today, people praise the vilest of sin, condone killing the unborn and the gay lifestyle, and worship the likes of Lady Gaga. How can this be? How can we have come to this?  The sign helps me understand– we can’t see the obvious!

The Book of Romans provides a detailed road map replete with clear signs of our need for a risen Savior. Paul states, “For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities–his eternal power and divine nature–have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that men are without excuse. For, although they knew God, they neither glorified him as God nor gave thanks to him, but their thinking became futile and their foolish hearts were darkened. Although they claimed to be wise, they became fools.”

Of course, I could say this applies to someone other than me, but I would be wrong. Paul reminds me, “You, therefore, have no excuse, you who pass judgment on someone else, for at whatever point you judge the other, you are condemning yourself, because you who pass judgment do the same things. “ and “there is no difference, for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.” Oh, but then comes the good news, we “are justified freely by his grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus…. therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit of life set me free from the law of sin and death.”

As I begin 2012, I pray that my eyes will be open to see God more clearly and I will speak boldly like the prophet Daniel, “It is my pleasure to tell you about the miraculous signs  and wonders that the Most High God has performed for me. How great are his signs, how mighty his wonders! His kingdom is an eternal kingdom; his dominion endures from generation to generation.”

2 thoughts on “Guest Blogger: Wise Words From My Mother

Leave a Reply

