Laughter is the Closest Distance Between Two People: Autumn + Brian Engagement Photography

“Laughter is the closest distance between two people.” -Victor Borge

There is no price to put on laughter. It is therapeutic. It is healing. It is precious. It is binding. It closes the gap. It covers transgressions. It is a gift.

Boy did we laugh. We laughed so much I could hardly work my camera. I can honestly say I’m not sure I’ve ever had so much fun on a shoot. Really. We laughed the whole time and I left feeling so blessed to have been a small part of this couple’s story. It’s a special story.

Autumn is what I would call a heart friend. She was my sanity two summers ago as I was heading up the Kanakuk Kamps Summer office and dealing with the craziness that comes with helping to manage a giant organization. Plus, we were enduring three months of unbearable Ozark humidity in the thick of summer. She was heroically leading the women of the dining hall and knocking it out of the park. We would have daily ‘help me’ meetings in the kitchen (often in the cool of the walk in refrigerator…no joke) as we would debrief the stress of the day. Autumn would look at me and say “Liiiisten, JT.Dub.” As in Jesus Take the Wheel. The sass of this girl is my favorite. Seriously, her friendship has provided me with some of the best life therapy over the years. Laughter. She keeps me laughing all the time. However, she is also one of the most direct and tell-you-like-it-is women I know and I am so grateful for that. She is a dear friend who I know will always give me a listening ear and sound advice. She is a gem and one of a kind.

It didn’t take Brian very long to realize that very thing about Autumn. He saw just how wonderful this woman was and he had to give it his best shot at winning her heart. They met at a mayoral campaign in St. Petersburg, FL in 2009 but besides a few quick encounters in between, they didn’t really spend significant time together until December 2010. Having both a long connection with Kanakuk Kamps and K Life ministries, their paths crossed in none other than Branson, MO and the spark was lit. December 17, 2010 he decided he had to get to know her better and began his patient pursuit. January 10th, 2011 he knew that she was the one he wanted to marry if she would give him a chance. She did. For the next four months he patiently pursued her as a friend over the phone and through email. 100 days after knowing she was the one, they went on their first date and the rest is history.

She thinks he’s a stud. He loves Chips and Salsa. She’s addicted to coffee. They love being out in the country because it’s quiet. They are a foot and a half apart in height difference. They are best friends and they are one incredibly fun couple.

I think that the ability to laugh together is a great indication of the strength of a relationship. Like I said, it covers a multitude of transgressions and maintains a joy that is necessary in this thing called life. Autumn and Brian, thank you so much for letting me be part of your wedding and for allowing me to laugh with you. I had so much fun and cannot wait to be there on your big day. I know that we will laugh a ton and enjoy the celebration of it all because God’s favor will be so evident. He smiles with you because this union is one to rejoice over. Your marriage will bring laughter to so many. Cannot wait to see how it all unfolds.

Happy Tuesday and remember…laughter is the closest distance between two people.

(Enjoy some pics of this fun couple. As usual, I had too many favorites so it may take you a while! They live in St. Petersburg, FL which is convenient since my sister lives in Orlando. On one of my wedding planning trips, we found time to get together and do a shoot in this fun quaint little downtown in Old Winter Garden. Then we made our way to a youth camp which was so fitting given their connection to Kanakuk Kamps. Enjoy!)

Aut, you are so gorgeous it’s unfair. 

The posed shot.

The ‘real’ shot. I told Brian to make Autumn laugh and boy…I wish I could tell you what he said to get this kind of reaction. Believe me, it was hilarious. We had to take several minutes to recover. Me included. LOVE the genuity of this picture.

Work it girl. Those eyes are striking.

Favorite. I’m in love with the lighting…not to mention the sweetness of this shot. Perfect.

Notice the height difference? Love it.

Can you imagine the laughter that came from this series of shots. I was having way too much fun.

Smiles of two people in love.

Seriously. I have one beautiful friend!

I took Brian and Autumn to this cute ice cream shop in this fun little downtown. I picked the biggest cup and filled it to the top. It was heavy…

Again, could this couple get any more fun? I think not.

Practicing for the cake cutting…

There’s the sassy girl I know and love. Her reaction to him is priceless.

Love those shoes Aut. Brian, of course you have to get on your tip toes to kiss your bride to be. Not.

Brian was serious about his model poses…again, the laughter was ensuing.

Work it guys. So impressed.

Maybe my favorite of the whole shoot. Timeless.

Bring in my famous ‘yummy light.’ Mary is one happy camper.

Love me some Spanish moss. So romantic.

Rawr. America’s Next Top Model. Seriously Aut, stunning.

Had to post this one since it is such an accurate depiction of the shoot. Hilarious. I said, “Give me your best model faces.” They are too fun.

Again, too fun.

Look! They are the same height!

Oh wait…she cheated.

Had to post this one too. Brian was particularly determined to take a picture with the ‘Slow’ sign. Aut and I weren’t sure why but we played along. Came out fun and even more an illustration of the playful nature of this couple. Love it.

Every once in a while, ok maybe more than often than that, I come up with a ridiculous idea. My couples are always so compliant and allow me to try new things. They were sweet as I made them Sharpie their hands and stand by a random sign in this fun youth camp we shot at. Despite my crazy ideas, I think this may be one of my favorites. What a picture of the covenant that is ahead.

Mr. and Mrs. Wang…Together Forever.

Happy Tuesday!!!!

One thought on “Laughter is the Closest Distance Between Two People: Autumn + Brian Engagement Photography

Leave a Reply

