Marching On: Shelby Senior Photography

We bonded over marching band. No shame. We both love it and don’t care in the slightest what other people think. Sometimes I’d take her home from small group, she’d put her instrument in my back seat and we would laugh and talk about all the ins and outs of high school marching band. The competitions. The thrills of performing. The relationships that develop within your section and the unity you feel. The joy of making music. We understood each other and spoke the same language. A language that no one else understands and yet one that was so special to us both. I loved it.

Shelby is one special high school senior. We first met over three years ago at a church service that met in the Branson YMCA. She may not remember but I do, clear as day because I thought, ‘this is one cool freshman.’ Immediately it was clear to me that she was well beyond her years in wisdom and understanding of biblical truth. Her passion for the Lord and her pursuit of a life based on His calling was uncanny and so rare in someone so young. Over the next two years I had the great privilege of being one of her small group leaders and watching as she continued to develop into such a beautiful and godly young woman. When she asked if I would do her senior portraits, I was thrilled and honored!

Shelby, thank you so much for letting me do these portraits and for allowing me the privilege of sharing in your life these last three years. You are a gem. It is so rare to find someone so young who is equally as beautiful on the inside as she is on the outside. I know that wherever you go, as you pursue the Lord, that you will do wonderful and amazing things. I cannot wait to see what is in store for you and all the places He will take you as you keep ‘marching on.’ Love you bunches. (And let’s be honest…we know the truth. Marching band is the bomb.com…double click.)

Enjoy some of my favorites from our shoot!

Happy Tuesday!

I have always said that I wish I’d had red hair. I still say it. You are gorgeous Shelbs.

Love that flower. Love it.

Shelby had the coolest location picked out for this shoot. An old building near her house that had burned down years ago. SO cool.

Work it girl.

Every time I see the one on the right I gasp a little. Simply stunning.

Don’t worry it was safe…I think.

Favorite. So natural.

Seriously. Your eyes are ridiculous.

I may have freaked out a little when she showed me this ivy wall. Perfection.

Stunning.

 

Leave a Reply

