You Bring Restoration.

“May you be strengthened with all power, according to his glorious might, for all endurance and patience with joy, giving thanks to the Father, who has qualified you to share in the inheritance of the saints in light. He has delivered us from the domain of darkness and transferred us to the kingdom of his beloved Son, in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins.” – Colossians 1:11-14


Sometimes I become burdened to share things on my heart. Today is one of those days.
If you have followed the blog much, you will have noticed that I make no amends for my faith. In fact, I am blessed to unashamedly have this platform to share what I believe is true and what is worth sharing with anyone I come in contact with. So, either you will be moved by what I have to say or you won’t… and both are fine. Nonetheless, I will share on.

Yesterday at church was baptism Sunday. I haven’t been able to attend church the last few weeks as my crazy schedule tends to get in the way so maybe that’s why my heart was particularly moved. Maybe it was the fact that I am always moved when I watch baptisms…usually moved to tears. Or maybe, just maybe, it’s simply because I was reminded of how wonderful the gospel truly is.

One by one, people stepped into the little pool of water before the congregation and shared their life story. There were accounts of depression, loneliness, unsatisfying pursuits of perfection, broken homes, failed marriages and incredible emptiness. While each story was different, personal to each one of those who stood in the pool, one thing was consistent. Brokenness.

Every one of them told of how they had spent their lives missing something important. Needing to be healed. Needing purpose. Needing help. Needing more.

In the midst of the brokenness though, one other thing was also consistent. Restoration.

Through tears and smiles, they each shared their unique stories but also their very common resolution. They had found restoration in the name and grace of Jesus Christ.

As I watched them, I remembered myself in that water many years ago. It wasn’t in a little baptismal in a church but instead my pool in my parent’s backyard. The waters were different and yet… they weren’t different at all. In both, broken people who had been healed were publicly plunged into water in order to declare their association with Jesus Christ. Tears filled my eyes as I was reminded of the beauty of the gospel and witnessed the profession of each of those in the water.  The power of salvation is indescribable. No matter who you are, you have undoubtedly encountered immeasurable brokenness and the death of Jesus Christ offers healing. Redemption. What a reason to rejoice! After the baptisms and professions of faith, our worship leader got up and led us in the most perfect song. I thought I would share it with you, whomever would read this little blog, in hopes that you would be encouraged by the gospel of grace…for it brings restoration to the soul.

“You bring restoration
You bring restoration
You bring restoration
to my soul

You’ve taken my pain
called me by a new name
You’ve taken my shame
and in its place, You give me joy
You take mourning and turn it into dancing
You take weeping and turn it into laughing
You take mourning and turn it into dancing
You take my sadness and turn it into joy
You make all things new, all things new”



( I was thinking that every post is better with a picture, but what depicts this well? Funny because actually the Bible uses marriage as a depiction for the restoration of man to God. How wonderful that I get to document something that is so symbolic of the gospel for a living! What a joyous occasion weddings are and that is so symbolic of salvation…our mourning is turned into dancing and our sadness into joy as we are joined with God. So…this image seemed fitting.)




2 thoughts on “You Bring Restoration.

Leave a comment