Behind the Lens

“You should start a website!” they said. Fear and nervousness filled my thoughts as I pondered that suggestion. Really? Me? No…who would even care?

Well, at the suggestion of some of my friends and in an attempt to do something outside of my comfort zone that requires faith in the Lord who provides all things (including confidence), I am starting a photography blog. Whew. Once it’s out in cyberspace it’s definitely official right? Photography has been a hidden passion of mine since I was in High School. Who even knows where it started or why, but I think it’s based in the fact that I am probably one of the most sentimental people that you will ever meet. Well, maybe that’s an overstatement but if you ask my friends and family they will tell you, Mary is sentimental. Every Christmas gift includes a picture, every birthday card includes a picture, every gift incorporates pictures, etc. etc. You get the picture. No pun intended. If you read my “About Me,” I do my best to explain the root of this passion, so I won’t go into detail on this post. The short of it is, I love capturing moments. I love capturing life, encapsulating it for forever. Or well, at least as long as we have Facebook or our laptops right? 🙂 Back in February of last year, I gave myself a little pep talk and said, “Okay Mary, if you are really serious about this hobby, then you better bite the bullet and get yourself a camera.” So, pretty much on a whim (which is unusual for my planned out Type A self), a bought myself a Canon 50D. With no real idea of what I was doing, I have been experimenting ever since.

I figure this blog will be at the very least a motivation for me to continue pursuing and developing this passion, even if nothing ever comes of it or if no one ever sees it. What is a passion if it isn’t given the opportunity to develop right? It’s nothing but a dying flame. So, here we go.

I figured for this first post, I’d share my most recent pictures of a shoot I did for Valentine’s Day. Thanks to a special someone in my life, I was forced/encouraged to step outside of my comfort zone and get some practice time behind the lens. Well, actually in front of it too. He was such a trooper for posing and for encouraging me to do what I love. Needless to say that the day included a lot of girlie squeals from me as we did the shoot. Pure excitement at silly things like an old run down homestead and “the golden hour.” What a weirdo! But I guess that’s a good sign that I enjoy working a camera. For now I’ll just post a few of myself as sort of an inaugural ‘first post’ to the maryfieldsphotography blog, but more to come later. To the few of you out there who might read this(mostly family) I hope you enjoy!

Here’s to capturing life behind the lens!

10 thoughts on “Behind the Lens

  1. Well you have at least one faithful follower on here who isn’t family and who won’t miss a post 🙂 You have a gift and it’s a flame that’s not going to die out. Keep capturing life!

    P.S. That must be one lucky “special someone”

  2. Love it gemela! So proud of you for actually doing this and starting to make your dream come true. You have a lot of talent and I can’t wait to see where God is going to take you. I think it’s time you and I have a little photo sesh again 😉

  3. Good for you, Mary! I’m really glad you’re doing this. I love your photos and am excited to see more! Your lighting is probably my favorite part of your work. Hope you’re doing well!

    Laura B.

  4. I love that you have a blog! And, that you are expressing yourself with words and photography! You are beautiful. You can count me in on reading and viewing your blog!

  5. Hey Mary! We have never met, but I was your BOB’s original small group leader and I have stumbled upon your blog! First I just want to tell you that I LOVE your photographs!! Beautiful and inspiring! I to have a passion for photography and sharing precious life moments. I have been attempting to get a site together for my own photos and have been directed to word press as well. Also, I am an Aggie and know Adam from working at KCO many years ago! Love the shots you did for him! He is such a great guy and I am thrilled that he has found his forever dance partner! Lastly, I just want you to know that your small group is unlike any ever in existence. They are precious Godly women and will be lifelong sisters in faith and love. Treasure them while they are in your life. They have been through a lot together (since 4th grade) and this last year together till graduation will no doubt be incredible. Have a blast with the girls and good luck with your photography!

    ~ jen gant

  6. Pingback: A Day Of Much Significance: J Star, Big Macs and Leap Day | maryfieldsphotography

  7. Pingback: A Sentimental Reflection: Announcement of the New Site | maryfieldsphotography

Leave a comment